2001 All Star Game

Thursday, July 19th 8:00 PM
Shakopee, Minnesota

Final Score : Metro All Stars 5   River Valley All Stars 2

Game Summary

Jeff Knutson of the Oakdale Blue Diamonds singled with the bases loaded to drive in two runs in the top of the second to get the scoring started for the Metro team. Bill Thorney and Paul Lucktenberg had previously singled and Mike Nentl walked to set the stage for Knutson. Then in the fourth inning, after Thorney doubled to left, Nentl singled to drive in the third run of the game for the Metro All-Stars.  Not to be outdone, Lee Pell of the St Peter Saints, doubled in the bottom of the fourth for the River Valley team to put runners on 2nd and 3rd and set the table for Jeff Fogarty of the Belle Plaine Gray Tigers who promptly singled both runners home to narrow the deficit to 3-2.

The Metro team scored again in the sixth as Thorney doubled to left to score Steve Hahn of the St Louis Park Cardinals who had previously reached base on an error and then stole second. Finally in the eighth, Doug Hartwig was hit by a pitch, stole second and scored the fifth and final run for the Metro's on a line drive single to right by Tom Imdieke of the Minneapolis Brewers. 

Bill Thorney of the Brewers was named MVP for the game following a 3-3 performance with 2 key doubles. Jeff Knutson finished 2-2. Bob Cass of the Eden Prairie Padres and Rickey Michel of the Oakdale Blue Diamonds each pitched 3 innings of shutout baseball. Defensive hero of the Metro team was Steve Hahn of the St Louis Park Cardinals who turned in several "sparkling gems" early in the match prompting Pete Chubb his manager, to ask "Why doesn't he do that for us ?? "

2001 All Star Rosters

Metro League River Valley League
Mgr : Wayne Zarembinski - Oakdale Blue Diamonds Mgr : Tom Burg - St. Peter Saints
Name Pos Team
Steve Hahn IF/C St Louis Park Cardinals
Jeff Jaeger C/OF St Louis Park Cardinals
Bob Cass C/3B Eden Prairie Padres
Jeff Meacham SS/OF Eden Prairie Padres
Jerry Sobieck P/IF Anoka Tornados
Todd VanKrevelen Anoka Tornados
Larry Dover OF/3B Edina Grays
Tony Krick IF Edina Grays
Tom Imdieke IF/P Minneapolis Brewers
Bill Thorney IF/OF Minneapolis Brewers
Denny Belisle OF/P New Hope Bandits
Doug Hartwig IF New Hope Bandits
Jeff Knutson 3B Oakdale Blue Diamonds
Paul Lucktenberg 1B Oakdale Blue Diamonds
Rickey Michel P Oakdale Blue Diamonds
Bill Mlynarczyk P Oakdale Blue Diamonds
Tim Doboszenski CF/C/P Loretto Sox
Mike Nentl 3B/C/P Loretto Sox
Randy Bergstedt IF/P Shoreview Hawks
John Gilbert IF Shoreview Hawks


Name Pos Team
Carlos Ubiera SS Eden Prairie Lion's Tap
Rod Helling P Eden Prairie Lion's Tap
Dave Wagner 1B Belle Plaine Gray Tigers
Jeff Fogarty C Belle Plaine Gray Tigers
Kevin Studnicka P Belle Plaine Gray Tigers
Bob Bindner OF Webster Rookies
Dave Pittman IF/OF Webster Rookies
Steve Pribyl OF Montgomery Loons
Joel Terio 3B Montgomery Loons
John Grim P Montgomery Loons
Pete Buss SS Jordan Alers
Jim Bohar C Jordan Alers
Scott McNally CF/C Bloomington Eagles
John Bannagan LF Bloomington Eagles
Gary Barbo C Bloomington Eagles
Bob Britz Shakopee Chiefs
Steve O'Neill Shakopee Cheifs
Randy Slepicka OF/P Mayer Mudcats
John Steffen C Mayer Mudcats
Larry Beno P Mayer Mudcats
Dave Hagene 3B/P Union Hill Pitbulls
Gebe Dwyer OF/IF Union Hill Pitbulls
Rich Ryan St Peter Saints
Lee Pell St Peter Saints
Jim Sullivan St Peter Saints

2001 Metro League All-Star Team

Top Row, left to right: Jerry Sobiech, Anoka, Larry Dover, Edina, Tony Krick, Edina, Tom Imdieke, Minneapolis, Bill Mlynarczyk, Oakdale, Bill Thorney, Minneapolis, Paul Lucktenberg, Oakdale, Bob Cass, Eden Prairie, Mike Nentl, Loretto

Bottom Row, left to right : Doug Hartwig, New Hope, Rickey Michel, Oakdale, Denny Belisle, New Hope, Tim Doboszenski, Loretto, Jeff Meacham, Eden Prairie, Steve Hahn, St Louis Park, Wayne Zarembinski, Oakdale (Mgr), Jeff Knutson, Oakdale 

Directions to Shakopee Ballpark

The Shakopee Ballpark is nestled in the Northwest corner of New 169 (The Bypass around Shakopee) and Marystown Road (County Road 15). The major exit before Marystown Road is Marshall Street (Highway 17). Take a right off the exit ramp and a quick left along the frontage road. The Ballpark is the last one on the left